Students are expected to pay all financial obligations to the University by the due date established by the University each semester.
Official registration is not complete until the University Bursar's Office has received payment or has been notified by the Office of Student Financial Aid that payment arrangements have been made. Failure to pay such obligations may result in the student not being allowed to receive official transcripts, enroll for subsequent semesters and be issued a State Hold (alert) to the Texas Comptroller’s Office. Financial obligations include, but are not limited to:
- Tuition and fees;
- Financial aid loans;
- Returned checks;
- Returned check charges;
- Library fines or lost or damaged book charges;
- Loss or breakage of instructional material or equipment;
- Housing and Meal Plans;
- Return of Title IV Funds;
- Police Department Fines and Citations.
If there is an unpaid balance and satisfactory payment arrangements are not made within 90 days of the end of the semester or term, the University may place any delinquent balance for collection with an outside collection agency. The student will reimburse the University all fees charged by any collection agency, which may be based on a percentage at maximum of 30% of the balance owed, and all fees and expenses, including reasonable attorney's fees that are incurred by the University in such collection efforts. This will be assessed to the e-bill account and included in the balance due. The University reserves the right to report collection delinquencies to any or all credit bureaus.
The student account is considered by TAMIU, an institution of higher learning, to be an educational loan made to the student to assist in the financing of their education and this debt is therefore not dischargeable under the United States Bankruptcy code.
Exemptions for Ex-Servicemen (Hazlewood Act): Men and women who have served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training) in the Armed Forces; Must have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the Veteran's Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty. Service members may be eligible for benefits under the Hazlewood Act if they have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31), and if no student loans are in default. Exemption from fees also extends to dependents of members of the Armed Forces who died as a result of service-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled (100%) as a result of a service-related injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual unemployability (IU) due to a service connected injury or illness. Exemption of Veteran’s unused hours can be transferred to a biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year; who is 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed.
Application and further information is available in the Office of the University Registrar. Exemption must be invoked by census date to reduce tuition fees for the semester. Information on these rules and regulations is available at the Texas Veterans Commission website at http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx?CFID=64772476&CFTOKEN=79077872
Senior Citizen Exemption (Up to 6 Hours of Free Tuition per semester): Senior Citizens, 65 or older, may receive a tuition waiver (it does NOT cover fees charged for the classes) for up to six semester credit hours, per semester, based on availability. Normal admission and registration procedures must be followed and course pre-requisites must be met. To obtain the exemption, inform the Office of the University Registrar in person (ZSC 121) or by email (email@example.com) of your request by the census date for the semester for which you have registered. Effective Fall 2014, Senate Bill 1210 (83rd Texas Legislature, Regular Session) added a grade point average requirement for persons to receive continuation awards through the program. The bill also establishes a limit to the total cumulative number of hours that a student may take and continue to receive awards through this exemption. Students must meet the university’s satisfactory academic progress toward a degree and will not be considered for the exemption if hours are in excess.
Other Exemptions: Information on other tuition exemptions granted by the State of Texas may be obtained on the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board web site: http://www.collegeforalltexans.com.
Explanation of Tuition and Fees
Tuition-Resident of Texas: Undergraduate Resident students pay $50 per semester credit hour. Graduate Resident students pay $77 per semester credit hour.
Tuition-Non-Resident/International: Non-resident and International students pay $459 per semester credit hour. Graduate Non-resident and International students pay $486 per semester credit hour.
Board Authorized Tuition: Authorized by The Texas A&M University System, Board Authorized Tuition is required of all students to cover University operating expenses including faculty salaries and facilities maintenance. The current Board Authorized Tuition rate is available from the Bursar's Office.
Athletics Fee: This fee is charged at the rate of $23.05 per semester credit hour up to 15 semester credit hours each semester to cover the operational costs of the athletics program, including maintenance of the KCB.
Student Health Fee: This fee is charged at a rate of $50.65 for the Fall and Spring semester and $25.00 for each of the summer sessions. This fee is to provide for operating, maintaining and equipping Student Health Services and entitles students to use its services. These services do not include surgical operations or charges for consultations with outside providers.
Recreational Sports Fee: This fee is charged at a rate of $82.00 for the Fall and Spring semester and $41.00 for each of the summer session to provide programs for students to participate in a variety of competitive, non-varsity, sports-related activities, and the use of the Kinesiology, Wellness, and Recreation Center facilities.
Student Center Fee: This fee is charged at the rate of $9.00 per semester credit hour with a $100.00 maximum for the Fall and Spring Semester and a $50.00 maximum for each summer session for Student Center operations, including maintenance.
Student Service Fee: This fee is charged at the rate of $28.20 per semester credit hour with a $250 maximum. It supports various departments in Student Services, as well as student activities such as SGA and CAB.
University Services Fee: The University Services Fee is charged to students at a varying rate per semester credit hour and covers the cost of academic advising, assessments required for accreditation, scholarships, utility expenses, the TAMIU OneCard program, ID cards, study abroad programs, library collections, safety operations and initiatives, technology infrastructure, hardware and software, instructional enhancement, and the operational and maintenance costs associated with these services. The current University Service Fee charged for a specific number of semester credit hours is available on the tuition and fee tables on the Bursar’s website.
Online Program Services Fee: Charged to students enrolled in online programs, this fee covers operational costs related to offering online programs, including the learning management system and additional instructional support.
Online Program Services Fee-Non-Resident: Charged to non-resident and international students enrolled in online programs, this fee covers operational costs related to offering online programs, including the learning management system and additional instructional support.
Auditor’s Tuition: The cost for auditing a course is the same as that required for registration for credit.
Laboratory Fee (Non-refundable): For each laboratory course, a fee of $2.00 to $30.00 is charged depending upon cost of materials used in the course. Non-refundable beginning first University class day, that is, if a student is allowed to drop a laboratory course, the fee for the semester not begun will be refunded.
TAMIU Books IncludED: This fee is charged to students at a per semester credit hour rate and covers the cost of granting every enrolled student access to all their required course materials on or before the first day of class. Students may opt-out for any semester by visiting the link to the opt-out portal that will be sent to their TAMIU Dusty student email account about 2 weeks before the start of each semester. This email will have directions on how to opt-out. TAMIU Books IncludED is an "all in" or "all out" option for each semester, and is not available on a course-by-course basis. As the fee is subject to change annually based on the varying costs of course materials, the current TAMIU Books Included Fee is available from the Bursar’s Office.
Late Payment Fee (Non-refundable): Students who fail to pay tuition and fees by the due date will be assessed a late payment fee of $100.
Orientation Fee (Non-refundable): This $150 nonrefundable fee is assessed to all new undergraduate students (Freshmen and Transfer) for orientation.
Reinstatement Fee/Late Registration Fee: This fee is charged at a rate of $100 per semester credit hour for students who are reinstated/registered after record date.
Repeated Course Fee (Non-Refundable) (Effective Fall 2007): SB1, General Appropriations Act, 79th Legislature, Regular Session, III-251, §49, limits formula funding for a course for which a student would generate formula funding for a third time. Students attempting a course for the third time will be charged an additional fee of $80.00 per semester credit hour. The following are exempt from the additional fee: developmental courses if within the 18-hour limit, hours for special topics and seminar courses which can be repeated, individual music lessons, music performance, ensembles, and studio art.
Additional Miscellaneous Fees:
Application fee, Graduate, $35.00
Application fee, International Graduate, $50.00
Certificate/deficiency plan (non-refundable), $25.00
Duplicate Diploma fee, $15.00
Emergency Tuition Loan processing, $30.00
Emergency Tuition Loan late fee, $25.00
Emergency Book Loan processing fee, $30.00
Emergency Book Loan late fee, $25.00
Graduation Application fee (all levels), $50.00; late fee, $100.00
International student application fee, $25.00
Installment Plan processing fee, $30.00
Installment Plan late fee, $25.00
Returned check charge, $30.00
Study Abroad Application Fee (non-refundable), $200.00
Thesis/Dissertation binding fee (per copy), $10.00
Transcript (Official - per copy but price might vary based on request), $7.00
Refund of Fees
Withdrawal from University
A student who officially withdraws from the University may request a refund on tuition and refundable fees according to the following schedule as defined in the State of Texas Education Code:
Fall or Spring semester or a summer term of 10 weeks or longer
100% prior to the first class day
80% during the first five class days
70% during the second five class days
50% during the third five class days
25% during the fourth five class days
Term or session of more than five weeks but less than 10 weeks
100% prior to the first class day
80% during the first, second or third class day
50% during the fourth, fifth, or sixth class day
No refund during the seventh class day or thereafter
Term or session of five weeks or less
100% prior to the first class day
80% during the first class day
50% during the second class day
No refund during the third class day or thereafter
Reduced Course Load
Students who reduce their semester credit hour load by officially dropping a course or courses and who remain enrolled in the institution will have applicable tuition and fees refunded according to the following schedule:
Fall and Spring Semesters:
During the first twelve University class days 100%
After the twelfth University class day NONE
During the first four University class days 100%
After the fourth University class day NONE
Additional Refund Provisions
- Refund of tuition and fees will be processed based on the date of the student withdrawal after the student has officially withdrawn through the Office of the University Registrar.
- Fees will not be refunded earlier than two weeks after the date of payment indicated on the student’s receipt. Refunds will be sent for processing with BankMobile disbursements, a technology solution, powered by BMTX, Inc.
- A student who pays for the current term registration and must withdraw due to previous term performance will receive a refund according to the schedule.
- The first class day of each term is always the first official University day of classes, not the first day of the individual’s class. A refund is based on the day of the drop/withdrawal, regardless of the date the class first meets.
Tuition Rebate for Undergraduate Students
The State of Texas is providing financial incentives for students who complete their undergraduate degree with no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required for graduation. The rebate for eligible students is a maximum of $1,000.
To be eligible for rebates under this program, students must meet all of the following conditions:
- They must have enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the Fall of 1997 semester or later;
- They must have received a baccalaureate degree from a Texas public university;
- They must have been a been a resident of Texas and entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing the degree; and
- They must have attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which they were graduated. Hours attempted include transfer credits, course credit earned exclusively by examination, courses that are dropped after the official census date, and for-credit developmental courses.
Students desiring to qualify for the tuition rebate are responsible for complying with all university rules and regulations related to the administration of the program, and are solely responsible for enrolling only in courses that will qualify them for the rebate. Students who transfer from another institution, including out-of-state institutions, shall provide the university with official transcripts from each institution of higher education attended in order that the total number of hours attempted may be verified.
The amount of tuition rebate to students under this program is based on state guidelines. If a student entitled to a rebate has an outstanding balance owed to the University or to student loans, the University will apply the amount of the rebate to the balances owed. If the rebate exceeds the amount of indebtedness, the University will pay the student the remaining amount.
Application forms and instructions are available in the Office of the University Registrar, ZSC 121.
Information on Tuition and Fees is available from the Bursar's Office.